That Time of the Month

You know that time of the month when everything feels so blah?

It’s that time of the month when you’re not in the mood for anything. You feel so tired all the time. All you wanna do is stay at home and do absolutely nothing. Except sleep and eat, of course. And maybe read a little, or watch some Netflix. And just be lazy.

It’s that time of the month when you experience “allergy” to people. When you do go out of the house (because you have work), you find yourself disconnecting from them. You don’t want to talk. You don’t want to socialize. You just want to be by yourself, and do whatever you are doing alone.

It’s that time of the month when your emotions are at its highest and lowest points. Too happy, too excited. Then a little annoyance makes you wanna cry. A little joke and you feel irritable. A little correction, and you feel ashamed and worthless. Your mind plays on you. You feel like the whole world is against you. You find it hard redirecting your mind to “happy thoughts” because this time you cannot stop your emotions from taking the lead.

Yes, it’s the worst time of the month to be a girl.

Few days ago, I was all kinds of negativity. Upon checking the calendar, I understood why I was in such moments. But understanding didn’t stop me from feeling them. My usual response to these is to just be quiet. At some point of anger or irritability, I know I would have said things I would later regret. Besides, at this time of the month, I’m always not in the mood to talk.

However, it go to the point where I sunk so deep that tears were actually flowing down my cheeks (while withdrawing money from the ATM – it seems funny now that I’m thinking about it haha). Good thing boyfie was there. I couldn’t even explain my thoughts and feelings to him. It’s good to have shoulders to lean on, and to have someone who understands 🙂

Yes, it’s the worst time of the month to be a girl. But it’s also a good time of the month to appreciate the patience of the people around you (especially your boyfriend haha).

Comment

