Love, School and Braces | 365 Days of Writing Prompts

Buffalo nickel

Dig through your couch cushions, your purse, or the floor of your car and look at the year printed on the first coin you find. What were you doing that year?

2010.

That was the year that I made a fool of myself. For the guy whose love I couldn’t get back. For the guy whose heart already belonged to someone else. For the first love that I thought to be the last. He was all I ever wanted, yet he wanted more and others. Pain and anger and resentment I felt. Until they faded when I started letting go.

That was the year that I graduated from high school. And entered the scary world of college. New environment, new people, new place to stay in. Lots of free time in between classes, which was later consumed of cramming for deadlines and exams. I was a loner then. Which was an advantage in itself because I didn’t have to regularly entertain people. Haha.

That was the year that I got my braces. It felt weird and painful. I looked weird, if I had to say so myself. Eating habits had to decline. Unfortunately. 😦

Seven years later. I am more in love than I used to be. Now on my third year of employment. And finally eating up to my whole potential (haha).

Comment

